top of page

Meet the Panelist: Tokashemia Grady



STMS: What do you do for a living?

Tokashemia: : I am a nurse by career, but I have several businesses and I am an author. I am also a radio show host for TheNursesStation.net, a radio station for nurses by nurses.

STMS: Why were you inspired to write your first book?

Tokashemia: I was hurt, I was damaged and broken after my divorce. I was encouraged by a good friend to put my story on paper so that I could heal and move on from the difficult situations that were overtaking my mind and my life.

STMS: What struggles have you overcome in life?

Tokashemia: Where do I start? They say whatever can go wrong, will go wrong and it did. On January 14, 2013, my husband decided to put his hands on me. It was already a verbally abusive marriage by the capped it off by pulling a gun out on me. I left home but ended up going back because of his controlling antics.

On January 22, 2013, I suffered a stroke. I was paralyzed on my right side for 3 long days. I remained in the hospital for a week missing (nursing) school. I moved out of my home and in with my parents. When I went to retrieve my things from my home, the locks were changed. I was not able to get any of my belongings which cause me to lose everything including my children clothes and shoes.

My husband filed for divorce and then begin making false accusations about child abuse and molestation which prompted an investigation and removal of my kids from my home for a short time until the investigation was complete.

My dad, whom was the love of my life, got sick and died. I was starting to recover financially when my mom’s house, where myself and my kids were residing, caught a fire. I had lost everything again. But God is faithful, I was able to help pay off my mom’s home and rebuild and upgrade it.

STMS: What organizations or companies do you volunteer with?

Tokashemia: I volunteer with Black Nurses Rock National and Houston Chapter, the largest national minority organization for nurses. I also volunteer with American Federation of Government Employees (AFGE) Local 1633 Young Organizing Unionist for the Next Generation (Y.O.U.N.G.)

STMS: What causes do you support?

Tokashemia: I am a huge Breast Cancer Awareness Advocate, HIV/AIDS Awareness Advocate and Solidarity and Equal Treatment in the Workplace.

STMS: What current projects or events should people be watching for from you?

Tokashemia: I have an Athleisure line launching in the beginning of year 2018. I also have a Children’s Book Series launching at the end of year 2018. I will be launching a Legal Nurse Consultant Business mid of 2018. I will be doing a tour with a group of Nurse Children’s Book Authors May of 2018. Speaking engagements in Feb, March and May, and July. Dates and locations will be provided at a later time.

STMS: How many books have you written, are you in the process of writing another?

Tokashemia: I have written one book and am in the process of writing a children’s book series of 8 additional books.

STMS: What are your goals for 2018?

Tokashemia: I’ve done most of the work in 2017, so now 2018 is a year of prosperity for me. My goals are to push the work that surfaced in 2017 into manifestation in 2018. My clothing company will be launched, my legal nurse consulting business will be launched, my children’s books will be launched, and I will be touring to be more visible.

Meet Tokashemia and hear her speak live on December 9, 2017 at the Strength Over Adversity Panel Discussion in Baltimore. Grab your tickets at https://www.eventbrite.com/e/strength-over-adversity-non-fiction-author-panel-discussion-tickets-39599429961

Find out more about Tokashemia Grady at www.tokashemiagrady.com

Social Media Handles:

Snapchat @Tokashemia

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page